FMOD And Line Input Streams with Cinder

Hi,

A short introduction as I’m new here; I’ve been experimenting with Cinder for a couple of years and absolutely love this framework. Many thanks to all that contribute and develop this amazing software tool, and for making it available for use in commercial products without strings attached…kudos!!

My primary use of Cinder is for an audio analyzer application. At this time I’m experimenting with both the built in Cinder audio via ‘monitorspectralnode’ as well as FMOD streams to get the FFT data to my app.

One of the issues I’m running into with FMOD is that it isn’t aware of the audio data when using the “line in” audio input device; it only will work with audio files that are playing through the system. I’ve been looking through the FMOD forums, etc. and have only been able to find some old workarounds which I’m not sure are valid anymore (but I am planning on exploring them in the next few days).

Is there anyone here that can provide some direction/help to get FMOD working with a “line-in” audio stream? Thanks in advance…!

Hi there and welcome,

I can’t help much with FMOD specific questions (although I know a number of active members are quite familiar with that library), but if you’ve got any questions about things related to ci::audio then I’d be happy to try to help. The InputAnalyzer sample is quite basic, but should be a good starting point for setting up realtime line input -> spectral analysis.

cheers,
Rich

Hi rich.e,

Thanks for the reply. I’ve been using the InputAnalyzer project as a basis for my experimentations with Cinder FFT, as well as using the utility code with that sample for drawing the spectrum data.