Cinder-SdfText Measure Inconsistencies with Trailing Spaces

Hi All,

I’m working on inline styling with the Cinder-SdfText block (Paul’s fork) and am running into issues where measureStringImpl() returns inconsistent results for trailing spaces. It seems that whenever there is a trailing space, it gets clipped, but not entirely trimmed since it still adds a few pixels.

I tried isolating the issue and it appears that results coming from measureGlyphs() are consistent, and that measureStringImpl() is the place where the last space measurements are changed.

I’m not a typography expert and am not 100% sure what the different measurement stages are for, but tried isolating things in a simple test case. I logged out the width of the measured Rectf as characters were added to the same SdfText instance:

|debug  | cinder::gl::SdfText::measureStringImpl[2427] "a": 14.835000
|debug  | cinder::gl::SdfText::measureStringImpl[2427] "a ": 16.334991
|debug  | cinder::gl::SdfText::measureStringImpl[2427] "a  ": 23.054993
|debug  | cinder::gl::SdfText::measureStringImpl[2427] "a   ": 29.774994
|debug  | cinder::gl::SdfText::measureStringImpl[2427] "a    ": 36.494995
|debug  | cinder::gl::SdfText::measureStringImpl[2427] "a    a": 56.174995

So measurements are basically:

• Single a: 14.835
  • Trailing space: 1.499991
  • Non-trailing space: 6.720001
  • Trailing a: 19.68

The trailing a wider than the single a, but the difference doesn’t add up to the same difference as between trailing and non-trailing spaces (4.845 difference between the as, but 5.22001 between the spaces).

Can anybody here shed some light on what might be happening? Is this a kerning issue and I’m chasing a red herring or is there a way to force SdfText to consistently measure trailing spaces?

Thanks!
Ben

spolier: I haven’t used the SDFText block, but I may be helpful on the typography part.

I’m wondering if your font is Monospace font? Or can you explicitly disable ligature in the block?