[Solved] Updating multiple attributes with instanced rendering

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to Cinder, coming from a webdev background. I’ve experimented with a bit of WebGL, but trying to expand my horizons.

I’m trying to learn about Instanced Rendering using the InstancedTeapots sample. I understand the general concept, but can’t quite translate that into practical changes to the code.

I want to assign each teapot a different color, but think I’m approaching it incorrectly.

My setup

// Shader for the 3D instanced object
    mGlsl = ci::gl::GlslProg::create( ci::app::loadAsset( "shader.vert" ), ci::app::loadAsset( "shader.frag" ) );

ci::gl::VboMeshRef mesh = ci::gl::VboMesh::create( ci::geom::Teapot() );

// create an array of initial per-instance positions laid out in a 2D grid
    std::vector<ci::vec3> bufferData;
    bufferData.resize(2*(mNumX * mNumY));

for( size_t potX = 0; potX < mNumX; ++potX ) {
        for( size_t potY = 0; potY < mNumY; ++potY ) {
            float instanceX = potX / (float)mNumX - 0.5f;
            float instanceY = potY / (float)mNumY - 0.5f;

ci::vec3 pos;

pos = ci::vec3( instanceX * mGridSpacing, 0 , instanceY * mGridSpacing);
            bufferData.push_back( pos );
            bufferData.push_back(ci::vec3(ci::randFloat(), ci::randFloat(), ci::randFloat() ));
        }
    }

// create the VBO which will contain per-instance (rather than per-vertex) data
    mInstanceDataVbo = ci::gl::Vbo::create( GL_ARRAY_BUFFER, bufferData.size() * sizeof(ci::vec3), bufferData.data(), GL_DYNAMIC_DRAW );

// we need a geom::BufferLayout to describe this data as mapping to the CUSTOM_0 semantic, and the 1 (rather than 0) as the last param indicates per-instance (rather than per-vertex)
    ci::geom::BufferLayout instanceDataLayout;
    instanceDataLayout.append( ci::geom::Attrib::CUSTOM_0, 3, sizeof(ci::vec3), 0, 1 /* per instance */ );

// need to change the offset