Problem blending batch instances

Hello, Cinderists!
I’m still pretty new to Cinder and I’m working my way through the wonderful samples folder.

Currently I’m trying to blend multiple simple mesh instances using the instanced teapot sample as the base. I’m updating the instance positions over time, but there seems to be a problem with depth testing or the draw function? I wanted to blend all the instances with “Additive” blending, but I’m getting a weird result.

I was hoping for the instances to blend by depth, but it seems that the “draw call id”(?) for each instance stays the same. Is there an easy way to sort the instance draw calls based on depth?

I’m also adding the code to reproduce the effect. Could someone go through the code and point out what I’ve gotten wrong? There are two different approaches. First one is where the animations is done only in the vertex shader. The second one uses the VBO remapping function. For the remapping to work, you must uncomment it in the cpp and in the vertex shader.

Any help will be appreciated. Thank you.

main cpp file

#include "cinder/app/App.h"
#include "cinder/app/RendererGl.h"
#include "cinder/gl/gl.h"
#include "cinder\Utilities.h"
#include <math.h>

using namespace ci;
using namespace ci::app;
using namespace std;

class Blending001App : public App {
  public:
	void setup() override;
	void mouseDown( MouseEvent event ) override;
	void update() override;
	void draw() override;
	void resize();

static void prepare(Settings *settings);

std::vector<ci::vec3> positions;
	CameraPersp		mCam;
	gl::BatchRef	mBatch;
	gl::GlslProgRef mShader;
	gl::VboRef		instanceVbo;

int const instances = 72 * 4;
	float const maxAngle = M_PI * 6.0;
	float const posRadius = 80.0;
	float const circleRadius = 24.0;
};

int window_x = 800;
int window_y = 800;

void Blending001App::setup()
{
	//Shader building
	mShader = gl::GlslProg::create(loadAsset("vert001.vert"), loadAsset("frag001.frag"));
	mShader->uniform("numInstances", instances);