Can I help improve Documentation (and examples)

I’m new to the forum but I’ve been using Cinder on and off for about 6 months now in various projects. (I make interactive installations for a living.) My background in C++ is mostly using openFrameworks but I’ve also used Processing (Java) and in the last few years I have used web technologies (especially NodeJS) extensively.

The Cinder library is certainly powerful but personally I have found two areas of weakness (just my perspective, so feel free to disagree!):

(1) The documentation is quite terse, and in any case the search functionality is broken on the site which is endlessly annoying - I see a Pull Request for this has been open since May (https://github.com/cinder/Cinder/issues/1837). And I don’t see any obvious way to help improve/fix the documentation? Is it automatically generated?

(2) There are guides but very few examples in the documentation itself. I guess different developers have different styles but personally I love to work from examples that show how functions and classes are intended to be used, in a relevant context. The documentation for Processing is particularly good at this (take a look at any example, e.g. https://processing.org/reference/color_.html). Even most web development frameworks/libraries are much, much better at this sort of thing, providing examples alongside the reference detail or even “recipes” snippets that show how common use cases ought to be handled.

So in summary, I’d love to know:

• Is there a way that the documentation can be made more open to community contribution, so that developers who are using the library every day can keep it up to date and more helpful, especially to newcomers?
  • Along the same lines, how can examples / “recipes” be incorporated into the documentation so that it is not only about a reference but also shows how things work in context?