FBO: basics and usage

dear embers,
I am new to Cinder and Graphics in general, and I am struggling with the theory / technique behind the FBO samples.
I started with an app that rendered directly to the screen. Now I managed to render stuff to an FBO first then to the screen and I am hoping I can add some post processing. Things seem to have a slowed a bit and it seems the push / pop matrices calls are the culprit. I am a bit confused with the “Scoped” calls (ScopedFramebuffer, ScopedViewport etc…) and how things are rendered inside a block { }.
Any pointers to any literature would be greatly appreciated.
thank you

Hi,

the gl::Scoped* calls allow you to temporarily store the current value, change it and automatically restore it as soon as the scoped variable is destroyed (goes out of scope):

// Set the current drawing color to white.
gl::color( 1, 1, 1); 
// Enter new scope.
{
    // Store current drawing color, then set it to red.
    gl::ScopedColor scpColor( 1, 0, 0 );

// Draw something...
    gl::drawSolidCircle( getWindowCenter(), 40.0f );

// The "scpColor" variable will now go out of scope and will be destroyed.
    // The current drawing color will be reset to white.
}

// Draw something...
gl::drawSolidCircle( getWindowCenter(), 20.0f );

The result should be a red circle with a smaller white circle on top of it.

Scoped variables follow a programming idiom called RAII and you are encouraged to use it throughout your code. This way, you can be sure values and states are always restored to their original value when exiting a scope, even in the event of an exception or error (if handled).