OSC block error - receiving OSC message from Kyma

hello everybody, I am new to Cinder and I already love it.
I am trying to send OSC message from Symbolic Sound Kyma to a CinderApp. I am using the OSC block that comes from cinder.

I got this error:
*|warning| void cinder::osc::ReceiverBase::dispatchMethods(uint8_t , uint32_t, const asio::ip::address &, uint16_t)[1159] Message: /osc/response_from doesn’t have a listener. Disregarding.

|fatal | void cinder::app::AppBase::executeLaunch()[197] Uncaught exception, type: cinder::osc::Message::ExcNonConvertible, what: /posx: expected type: FLOAT, actual type: INTEGER_32

libc++abi.dylib: terminating with uncaught exception of type cinder::osc::Message::ExcNonConvertible: /posx: expected type: FLOAT, actual type: INTEGER_32

I have tested Kyma/OSC sending with Processing/PureData/SuperCollider and I got no problems…
thanks.
d

The error seems to be in the client code, not the osc block itself. You’re apparently trying to retrieve a value from an osc::Message called “posx” as a float, but the server that’s sending the messages sent it as an int.

Thanks for your reply. I forgot to mention that the I am sending floats and not ints. Kyma only sends out floats. If I check it with another OSC client as PD or Processing, I can see floats arriving.

if you print out osc::Message directly you should see exactly what’s coming in.

void yourListener ( const osc::Message& message )
{
    std::cout << message << std::endl;
}

My suspicion is that the processing client is being more forgiving about how it treats numeric types than cinder’s implementation is.

I will check it later. But in the server (Kyma), I can’t change anything because the OSC sender is a “native” module. Is there any workaround I can do in the C++ code to make it more “tolerant” ?