Other libraries that use the message loop in LibCinder update() method

I am trying to integrate CEF into a Cinder application on macOS.

I have everything hooked up and my app runs and sometimes, for a few frames, things work as expected and I see web content rendered in my app then the Cinder update() function stops being called.

I think the issue is that I call into my CEF library consumes and empties the message loop so there is nothing left for Cinder to process.

I didn’t see anything CEF related here but has anyone else come across this kind of issue and found a solution or workaround ?

I have no experience with CEF, but I remember others have tried integrating it into cinder earlier. Some pointers that might help:

https://forum.libcinder.org/topic/chromium-embedded-framework-integration

Thanks for those pointers. I was excited to read the source for the sample you mentioned but sadly it uses CEF with a multithreaded message loop which is not possible for my use case. That’s why they don’t need to call a CEF update function in their Cinder app’s update() method.

If there is a way in LibCinder to regularly call another function, outside of update(), that might help me - calling the CEF update method in mousemove(…) for example does the right thing when you move the mouse.

Using a thread maybe?
Basic solution running until the app exists:

void callRegularly( std::function< void( void ) > fn, unsigned int sleepDuration )
{
    std::thread(
            [ fn, sleepDuration ]()
            {
                while ( true )
                {
                    fn();
                    std::this_thread::sleep_for( std::chrono::milliseconds( sleepDuration ) );
                }
            } ).detach();
}

initialize a lambda function called regularly like this:

callRegularly( [ this ]() { app::console() << getElapsedSeconds() << std::endl; }, 10 );

Thank you! - I already tried something similar but less elegant than your suggestion.