Window issue on OSX Mojave

Hi

I’m very new to Cinder. Trying some simple examples I’ve noticed that calling gl::drawSolidCircle(getWindowCenter(), 20.0);
places the object in the top right corner of the window instead of in the center.

Has anyone else noticed this behavior?

Can anyone suggest a workaround?

Hi Barry,

Could you try running the same code on pre-Mojave OSX and see if it’s a Mojave only issue? Also, is your code using Fbo? I did notice some retina scale related problem in glBlitFramebuffer in the first couple beta releases of Mojave, but that only happened to my other apps and I haven’t been able to reproduce in Cinder.

Phil

Hi Phil

I don’t have access to a pre Mojave machine I’m afraid. I’m not using any FBOs, the code I posted is my entire draw call. Should I open an issue on the repo?

Did you resize the window while running the application?

If so, you will have to adjust the projection matrix to the new window dimensions. The easiest way to do this is to add this call to your draw function:

void MyApp::draw()
{
    gl::clear();

gl::setMatricesWindow( getWindowSize() ); // <-- this one

gl::drawSolidCircle( getWindowCenter(), 20.0f );
}

A slightly better way is to only do this when the window resizes. Override the void resize(); function with this implementation:

void MyApp::resize()
{
    gl::setMatricesWindow( getWindowSize() );
}

If that’s not it, the issue might also be related to content scaling. Perhaps you’re running this on a high density monitor. Try this:

gl::drawSolidCircle( toPixels( getWindowCenter() ), toPixels( 20.0f ) );

(note: I did not try this code myself, so it might need some tweaks)

I hadn’t been resizing the window and

gl::drawSolidCircle( toPixels( getWindowCenter() ), toPixels( 20.0f ) );

hasn’t worked.

Could it be anything to do with the fact that I’m using an Intel Iris Graphics 6100 1536 MB?

Edit: Spotted this issue on the oF forums. There appears to be issues with oF on Mojave too.