Build issue with dynamic linking on Windows

Hello! I’m somewhat new to Cinder, C++, and Windows development, which is making for a fun series of challenges. I’m using VS 2015 on Windows 10.

I have a c++/cuda dependency that must be linked dynamically, so I’m trying to switch my VS project from static to dynamic linking. Cinder is my only other dependency right now. I made these changes:

• Project properties > C/C++ > Code Generation > Runtime Library: Changed Multi-threaded (/MT) to Multi-threaded DLL (/MD)
  • Linker Additional Library Directories: Changed ..\vendor\Cinder\lib\msw\$(PlatformTarget)\$(Configuration)\$(PlatformToolset)\ to ..\vendor\Cinder\lib\msw\$(PlatformTarget)\$(Configuration)_Shared\$(PlatformToolset)\ (in other words, use Release_Shared instead of Release)
  • Opened cinder.sln and built the Release_Shared target

(I’m only using Release configurations for now.)

The build fails with a few linker errors:

Error LNK2001 unresolved external symbol "private: static class std::mersenne_twister_engine<unsigned int,32,624,397,31,2567483615,11,4294967295,7,2636928640,15,4022730752,18,1812433253> cinder::Rand::sBase"
(?sBase@Rand@cinder@@0V?$mersenne_twister_engine@I$0CA@$0CHA@$0BIN@$0BP@$0JJAILANP@$0L@$0PPPPPPPP@$06$0JNCMFGIA@$0P@$0OPMGAAAA@$0BC@$0GMAHIJGF@@std@@A)

Error LNK2001 unresolved external symbol "private: static class std::uniform_real_distribution<float> cinder::Rand::sFloatGen" (?sFloatGen@Rand@cinder@@0V?$uniform_real_distribution@M@std@@A)

There’s another similar unresolved symbol error for my other dependency, but I don’t think those details are relevant here.

Help of any sort, even vague guesses or clues, would be greatly appreciated!

Just a quick question, is there anything stopping you from linking against Cinder statically and other libs dynamically? You might have to modify Cinder’s Runtime Library to be /MD.

Nothing except my lack of experience, I suppose… how would I go about doing that?